April 17, 2017



As many of you know by now,  the Board accepted Tahverlee Anglen’s resignation, effective immediately, as President of NAATA.

Pursuant to the by-laws of the organization, the Board unanimously elected Charles S Brofman as President of NAATA.  Charlie is the President of Westchester Export Capital LLC, a NAATA member, and has served on the Board since April 2015.  He was a member of the special legal committee that successfully negotiated with Customs and Border Protection and Secret Service over the seizures that occurred in 2013 and 2014.   Thereafter he was appointed Chairman of our Legal Committee that communicates regularly with officials from CBP and Homeland Security.   Charlie is an admitted attorney in New York and a former New York City prosecutor. Charlie will serve without compensation.

In addition to the appointment of a new President, the Board created the position of Executive Director of NAATA who will be vested with the administrative responsibilities of the organization.   The Board unanimously appointed Michael O’Rourke, Esq., a Partner at Sandler Travis & Rosenberg to that position.  Mike has vast experience as an attorney in domestic and international trade. A  USMC Captain (Ret.), Mike began his international trade career as a trial attorney in the office of the Assistant Attorney General of the United States, Department of Justice, Customs Section. More recently he was a partner in the law firm of Rode & Qualey.  He is a past president of the Customs and International Trade Bar Association and is an active member of the District of Columbia Bar Association and the Federal Circuit Bar Association.

Mike has served on the United States Court of International Trade’s Advisory Committee and is a program co-chair and a long-time member of the Advisory Board of the Georgetown University Law Center’s International Trade Update. He is admitted to practice before the U.S. Court of International Trade, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and the U.S. District Courts for the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York. He is an active member of the New York bar. Mike and his law firm were the special counsel to NAATA that successfully negotiated a resolution with Customs and Border Protection in 2015 to end the wholesale seizure of vehicles slated for export.

Our Officers and Directors are now as follows:

Charles S Brofman – President and Director and Chair of the Legal Committee

George Sahakian – Vice President, Director and Chair of Membership Committee

David Fitzpatrick – Director and Chair of Finance Committee

Nate Huskins – Director and Chair of Technology Committee

Andrew Pilsworth – Director and Chair of Partnership Committee

Wouter Van Essen – Director and Chair of Trade Barriers Committee

Jan Zurek – Director and Chair of Board Development Committee

Michael O’rourke – Executive Director


We are committed to increasing and revitalizing our membership. Our membership dues are now $1000 for twelve months for all qualified dealers, companies, and professionals that support the trade.  There are several new initiatives and programs under review which we hope to launch during this year.

Our annual meeting of members will be held in Toronto on May 18 at the Thompson Toronto hotel.  Special rates are being arranged and we ask all members to make  plan to attend the meeting.